top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaurel Gustafson

Today. Be all here.

Updated: Feb 2, 2023


Whatever happens tomorrow, or for the rest of my life, I'm happy now.

-Phil Connors in Groundhog Day.

In my first year of college (circa September 1999), I was sitting in a circle at Bible Study talking about favorite movies. I kicked it off and said Groundhog Day. I talked about how it teaches contentment when the main character was forced to live the same day over and over. To move forward it wasn't his external circumstances that changed, it was his attitude toward where he was placed. After I got done explaining, heads were nodding, although I had felt silly for getting deep with my answer when everyone else said movies like Tommy Boy.

I've been in lots of places where I've wanted the circumstances to change. Maybe even wanted to have a day (or 99) to do over again.

  • I graduated with an undergraduate degree and couldn't find a job; soon I was let go from a temp job where I opened up rebate envelopes with pop bottle caps in them.

  • I've built a new construction home thinking I'd never pay rent again. In 10 months, I was unexpectedly paying rent elsewhere.

  • I've been told 'I Do' until a change of mind 6 years later when I was told 'I Don't' anymore.

  • I moved away from Mankato thinking it was permanent and excitedly became a Mankato resident again within a year.

Some things I chose, some I was a part of, and some were choices made for me. As I think of making decisions now, I think of them as a step towards my passions... and so much less about where I should be or what I should be doing for the rest of my life. When we come to a fork in the road and have to make what seems like a big decision, we can give ourselves a lot more grace. Life changes. Life is messy. By choice or by force, I'm happy now. 

Worrying about tomorrow will steal the only time you're guaranteed to have: the present.


84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page